$29,000 in Scholarships Matched

Through the Partnerships for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Program, the Crawford Heritage Community Foundation has leveraged matching funds for more than half of their 2017 scholarship awards. The PATH Program is administered by the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA). Since the Foundation began participating in the program in 2004, a total of $308,333 in additional scholarship support has been awarded to over 260 Crawford County students seeking to further their education.

For the 2017-2018 school year, twenty-three students, representing seventeen of the Foundation’s scholarship programs, have been awarded grants. The awards range between $250 and $2,500, totaling more than $29,000. To be eligible, students must have received a scholarship from the Foundation, be enrolled in a Pennsylvania college, be a state grant recipient and have additional unmet financial need as determined by PHEAA.

“For the students and their families, the added support from PHEAA eases the burden for paying for tuition, books and housing at increasingly expensive higher education institutions,” says Christian Maher, Executive Director of the Foundation.

The Crawford Heritage Community Foundation is dedicated to making Crawford County a better place to live, learn, work and raise a family. The Foundation helps people make the most of their philanthropy by giving to endowed funds. Grant awards are made from these funds to support the causes donors care about as well as worthwhile programs selected by the Foundation. The Foundation manages more than 100 funds, which benefit more than 100 different organizations, scholarships and charitable purposes. More than $6 million has been awarded since the organization was established in 1998. For more information about making a gift or seeking grant support for a project, write the Crawford Heritage Community Foundation, PO Box 933, Meadville, PA 16335, phone 814-336-5206 or visit them on-line at www.crawfordheritage.org.

Students selected to receive 2017-2018 PATH grants include:
Sarah Adsit, Penn State University
Shannon Beers, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Jacklyn Bizjak, Penn State University
Tessa Chaney, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Paige Coon, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
Hannah Draa, Geneva College
Hope Fiely, Grove City College
Joseph Fitz, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg
Benjamin Gillette, Grove City College
Juliet Hilburn, Mercyhurst University
Sarah Jones, Duquesne University
Shannon Kearney, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Paige Kerr, Great Lakes Institute of Technology
Emily Miksa, Great Lakes Institute of Technology
Noah Morus, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Noah Ongley, Penn State – Behrend College
Thomas Phenicie, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
Benjamin Renaudin, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
Kayli Rodgers, Robert Morris University
Charles Tate, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
Christopher Tate, Clarion University of Pennsylvania
Trae Tudor, Pennsylvania College of Technology
Jacqueline Wright, Penn State – Behrend College